top of page
image00024_edited.jpg

The approach

From earth to glass

THE TERROIRS

THE EXPRESSION OF OUR PAST TERROIR
FIRST OF ALL BY A JOB
RESPECTFUL OF THE VINE AND THE SOIL.

GRAND CRU WINECK SCHLOSSBERG

lieu GC

Altitude: 280 to 400m

An exceptional terroir, 700 years of history

The vineyard of Wineck schlossberg facing south-east on steep slopes, enjoys maximum sunshine. Protected by 3 hills, like a closed valley, its granite soil 2 mica from Turkheim accumulates heat and light. A mild climate with little contrast gives the wines greatness, finesse and regularity. The wines then develop a beautiful acidity and a floral character.

image00019.jpeg

OUR LIEUX-DITS

image00012.jpeg
Hinterburg
sumfgarten
steinbrucheren

Hinterburg

Altitude: 250 to 300 m

Slope: High gradient

The Hinterburg vineyard, facing east and very sloping, therefore requires planting on the terrace. This terroir is composed of very deep granite (two mica from Turkheim), which gives the wine an aromatic complexity and a beautiful finesse. Strong and fresh, the wines from this terroir are conducive to a long journey through time.

Sumpfgarten

Altitude: 100 to 150 m

In Alsatian; the swamp garden. This place is located at the foot of the Florimmont. It is a place where ground and surface water collects in a basin, thus promoting the formation of swamps. Long used as a gardening area, the Sumpf has gradually been drained and planted with vines. Vines that often bear bunches of grapes swollen with juice. Its soil is made up of large Ooliths as well as sediments from the degection cone of the Vosges Valleys, which gives rise to wines with aromatic power.

Steinbruchreben

Altitude: 100 m

Steinbruch "quarry" reben "vines", it is therefore the vines located above the quarry. This place enjoys good sunshine. Its soil is composed of sediments from the exhaust cone of the Vosges valley (Weiss, Fecht).

THE BIODIVERSITY

WORKING WITH NATURE

At Domaine Ecklé Jean-Paul & fil, it is a state of mind, an identity to preserve our environment. We work daily with the aim of reducing inputs as well as the environmental impact linked to our activity.

We follow the weather in the vineyard with precision in order to reduce every human intervention to the strict minimum.

Organic fertilization; the leaves, the branches as well as all the noble materials are crushed on the ground, providing natural balance and stability to the ground.

Each intervention in the vineyard is thought out with respect for the environment and respectful of our terroir.

"Integrated pest management designates the rational application of a combination of biological, biotechnological, chemical, physical, cultural or plant breeding measures, in which the use of plant protection products is limited to what is strictly necessary to maintain the presence of the organisms. harmful below the threshold at which economically unacceptable damage or loss occurs. "

REASONED CULTURE

image00026.jpeg

HIGH ENVIRONMENTAL VALUE CERTIFICATION

HVE_exploitation_ocre_edited.png
image00014.jpeg

Because man and his environment have always been at the heart of our concerns, we have sought complete and global certification, in order to develop sustainable production and consumption. This is how we obtained the HVE (High Environmental Value) certification at the start of 2021.

The HVE certification consists in promoting production from farms that voluntarily engage in environmentally friendly approaches. In particular, it highlights four key themes:

-the preservation of biodiversity

-the phytosanitary strategy

-fertilization management

-management of water resources

HARVEST TIME

HARVESTING FRUIT

HARVEST

The date of the harvest is crucial. Each of our plots is carefully tasted and scrutinized in order to analyze the balance between sweetness and acidity. When we consider that the ripeness of the berries is optimal, the first pruning shots are launched. In order to preserve as much as possible the quality of the harvest and to avoid the crushing of the berries, the grapes are collected manually in buckets, and in harvest baskets when the tractor cannot move.


The work in the vines that we do all year round takes on its full meaning during the harvest, the rest of the story is written in our cellar.

123475164_799958174177806_61240590089297

THE BIRTH OF WINE

REFLECTED VINIFICATION AND AGING

Winemaking is the work phase that transforms the grape into wine.

In the shade of our cellar, very gently, the grapes to which we have taken the greatest care throughout the year, are gradually transformed into wine of which we hope to be able to be proud.

Whites :

The grapes are harvested manually, in the morning dew to keep all the freshness of the fruit. After a moderate pneumatic pressing, the vinification takes place either in traditional Alsatian casks or in stainless steel vats. The choice of containers varies according to the vintages, grape varieties and respect for the expression of the terroir.

 

The Reds :

The red wines, made exclusively from the Pinot Noir grape, are produced on vines of advanced age.

We attach great importance to the selective sorting of the grapes for the harvest. Domaine ECKLE Jean-Paul et fils respects winemaking traditions: For red wine, the bunches are destemmed before macerating in stainless steel vats for 15 to 20 days, depending on the vintage. Reassembly or shedding are considered every day, after tasting the young cru, to allow a very gentle extraction of the aromatic components in order to ensure a beautiful concentration and colors with intense colors.

Fermentation temperatures are between 25 ° - 28 °.

cab2ef543b0c47be4be5273fd4faeee5.jpg

VINIFICATION

107cc0ba887edfd358fbc3d9a363466f.jpg
1aa550427ad3b5ea7bc2bf51744bf71a.jpg

This step is essential in the development of our wines. It allows the wine to grow and express itself gently.

Our wines are aged in different containers: casks or stainless steel vats. The duration varies depending on the vintage, between 15 and 18 months.

For Pinot Noir and Sylvaner aged in oak barrels, we have selected different Burgundy barrels from our favorite artisans, in order to adapt each wine to the aromatic palette sought by Domaine ECKLE Jean-Paul et fils.

Bottling is carried out at the estate.

AGEING

bottom of page

image00024_edited.jpg

L'Approche

De la terre au verre

LES TERROIRS

L’EXPRESSION DE NOTRE TERROIR PASSE
AVANT TOUT PAR UN TRAVAIL
RESPECTUEUX DE LA VIGNE ET DU SOL.

GRAND CRU WINECK SCHLOSSBERG

 

Altitude : 280 et 400 m

Un terroir exceptionnel, 700 ans d'histoire

Le vignoble du Wineck schlossberg exposé Sud-Est sur de fortes pentes, bénéficie d’un ensoleillement maximum. Protégé par trois collines, tel une vallée fermée, son sol granitique à deux micas de Turckheim accumule chaleur et lumière. Une situation climatique douce et peu contrastée confère aux vins grandeur, finesse et régularité. Les vins développent alors une belle acidité et un caractère floral.

image00019.jpeg

NOS LIEUX-DITS

image00012.jpeg
 
 
 

Hinterburg

Altitude : 250 à 300 m

Pente : Forte

Le vignoble du Hinterburg, exposé plein Est et très pentu, nécessite une plantation en terrasse. Ce terroir est composé de granite à deux micas de Turckheim très, qui attribue au vin une complexité aromatique et une belle finesse. Soutenu et frais, les vins issus de ce terroir sont propices à un long voyage dans le temps.

Sumpfgarten

Altitude : 100 à 150 m

En alsacien ; le jardin des marécages. Ce lieu-dit se trouve au pied du Florimmont. C'est un endroit où les eaux souterraines et de surface se rassemblent dans une cuvette, favorisant ainsi la formation de marécages. Longtemps utilisé comme aire de jardinage, le Sumpfgarten a, peu à peu été drainé et planté en vignes. Des vignes qui portent souvent des grappes aux grains gonflés de jus. Son sol est constitué de grandes Oolithes ainsi que de sédiments du cône de déjection des Vallées Vosgiennes, qui donne naissance à des vins d'une grande puissance aromatique.

Steinbruchreben

Altitude : 100 m

Steinbruch "carrière", reben "vignes", il s'agit donc des vignes situées au-dessus de la carrière. Ce lieu-dit jouit d'un bon ensoleillement. Son sol est composé de sédiments du cône de déjection de la vallée vosgienne (rivières de la Weiss et de la Fecht).

LA BIODIVERSITE

TRAVAILLER AVEC LA NATURE

Au Domaine Ecklé Jean-Paul & fils, c’est un état d’esprit, une identité, que de préserver notre environnement. Nous travaillons quotidiennement dans le but de réduire les intrants ainsi que l’impact environnemental lié à notre activité.

Nous suivons avec précision la météo du vignoble afin de réduire au strict nécessaire chaque intervention humaine.

Une fertilisation organique ; les feuilles, les sarments ainsi que toutes les matières nobles sont broyés au sol, fournissant équilibre et stabilité naturels à la terre.

Chaque intervention à la vigne est réfléchie dans le respect de l’environnement et de notre terroir.

 «La lutte intégrée désigne l'application rationnelle d'une combinaison de mesures (biologiques, biotechnologiques, chimiques, physiques, culturelles ou intéressant la sélection des végétaux), dans laquelle l'emploi des produits phytopharmaceutiques est limité au strict nécessaire pour maintenir la présence des organismes nuisibles en-dessous du seuil à partir duquel apparaissent des dommages ou une perte économiquement inacceptable. »

LA CULTURE RAISONNEE

image00026.jpeg

LA CERTIFICATION HAUTE VALEUR ENVIRONNEMENTALE

HVE_exploitation_ocre_edited.png
image00014.jpeg

Parce que l’homme et son environnement ont toujours été au cœur de nos préoccupations, nous avons recherché une certification complète et globale, afin de développer une production et une consommation durable. C’est ainsi que nous avons obtenu la certification HVE (Haute Valeur Environnementale), début 2021.

La certification HVE, consiste à valoriser les productions issues d’exploitations agricoles qui s’engagent volontairement dans des démarches respectueuses de l’environnement. Elle valorise notamment quatre thématiques clés :

-la préservation de la biodiversité

-la stratégie phytosanitaire

-la gestion de la fertilisation

-la gestion de la ressource en eau

Le TEMPS des VENDANGES

RECOLTE DES FRUITS

LES VENDANGES

La date des vendanges est cruciale. Chacune de nos parcelles est minutieusement dégustée et scrutée afin d’analyser l’équilibre entre la sucrosité et l’acidité. Lorsque nous estimons que la maturité des baies est optimale, les premiers coups de sécateur sont lancés. Afin de conserver au maximum la qualité de la récolte et d’éviter la trituration des baies, les raisins sont ramassés manuellement dans des seaux, et dans des hottes lorsque le tracteur ne peux pas circuler.


Le travail à la vigne que nous effectuons toute l’année prend tout son sens au temps des vendanges, le reste de l’histoire s’écrit dans notre cave.
 

123475164_799958174177806_61240590089297

LA NAISSANCE DU VIN

UNE VINIFICATION ET UN ELEVAGE REFLECHIS

La vinification est la phase de travail qui transforme le raisin en vin.

Dans l’ombre de notre cave, tout en douceur, les raisins auxquels nous avons apporté le plus grand soin toute l’année, se transforment petit à petit en vin dont nous espérons pouvoir être fiers.

Les Blancs :

Les raisins sont récoltés manuellement, à la rosée du matin pour garder toute la fraicheur du fruit. Après un pressurage pneumatique modéré, la vinification se passe soit en foudre traditionnel Alsacien ou en cuve d'acier inoxydable. Le choix des contenants varie en fonction des millésimes, des cépages et du respect de l’expression du terroir.

 

Les Rouges :

Les vins rouges, issus exclusivement du cépage Pinot Noir, sont produits sur des vignes d’âge avancé.

Nous apportons une grande importance au tri sélectif des raisins à la vendange. Le Domaine ECKLE Jean-Paul et fils, respecte les traditions de vinification : pour le vin rouge, les grappes sont éraflées avant de macérer en cuve pendant 15 à 20 jours, selon les millésimes. Remontage ou délestage sont réfléchis chaque jour, après dégustation du jeune cru, pour permettre une extraction toute en douceur des composants aromatiques afin d’assurer une belle concentration et des robes aux couleurs intenses.

Les températures de fermentation se situent entre 25 et 28°C.

cab2ef543b0c47be4be5273fd4faeee5.jpg

LA VINIFICATION

107cc0ba887edfd358fbc3d9a363466f.jpg
1aa550427ad3b5ea7bc2bf51744bf71a.jpg

Cette étape est essentielle dans l’élaboration de nos vins. Elle permet au vin de grandir et de s'exprimer tout en douceur.

Nos vins sont élevés dans différents contenants : foudre ou cuve inox. La durée varie selon les millésimes, entre 15 et 18 mois.

Pour le Pinot Noir et le Sylvaner vieillis en fût de chêne, nous avons sélectionné différentes barriques bourguignonnes de nos artisans tonneliers préférés, afin d'adapter chaque vin à la palette aromatique recherchée par le Domaine ECKLE Jean-Paul et fils.

La mise en bouteille est réalisée au domaine.

L'ELEVAGE